For a more effortless and secure experience on our site, please consider updating your browser

Merv King joins Eric Hayman Award winners

March 05, 2010
Merv King joins Eric Hayman Award winners

Merv King won the Eric Hayman Award in Brisbane at the CRVA Conference dinner..

Typically the former BIG4 chairman and long-term industry supporter thanked the industry for the opportunity to serve.

Merv King has been part of and instigator of proactive programs which met challenges for the industry head-on, selection panel chairman Ron Chapman said.

The successful campaign to turn the travelling publics negative reaction to rising fuel prices with comparisons to the cost of a cup of coffee is a particular example.

The Eric Hayman awards key criteria demands that the recipient makes a contribution which is a national service to the Australian caravan, camping and tourism industry.
In the case of the fuel crisis response Merv King hit the bullseye.

For the first time in 20 years circumstances prevented a member of the Hayman family presenting the award. Eric Hayman Award committee selection panel chairman Ron Chapman became a Hayman proxy for the occasion. Chapman was the second recipient of the award.

Eric Hayman was President of the CTIA (Victoria) for 17 years and also president of the Caravan and Recreational Vehicle Council of Australia. When Eric was standing down, the Association decided to initiate the award, Ron Chapman said.