For a more effortless and secure experience on our site, please consider updating your browser

ANCAP benchmarks 5 star crash safety as Nissan Navara D40 lifts rating to 4 stars

February 10, 2012
ANCAP benchmarks 5 star crash safety as Nissan Navara D40 lifts rating to 4 stars

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) website reports today that the recently tested model of Nissan Navara D40 which was introduced in Australia in 2012 has been rated to 4 stars.

This ANCAP 4-star rating currently only applies to 4 cylinder diesel Dual Cab 4x4 variants with a VIN prefix of VSK built from November 2011 or a VIN prefix of NMT built from December 2011, when safety upgrades were introduced.

Dual front airbags, antilock brakes (ABS) and electronic stability control (ESC) are standard on the D40 Dual Cab. Electronic brake distribution (EBD), side airbags and head-protecting side curtains are optional and are recommended by ANCAP but do not change the star rating. An advanced seat belt reminder is fitted to the driver seat. Pretensioners are fitted to the front seat belts to reduce slack in the event of a crash. A three point seat belt is fitted to the centre rear seat. This provides better protection than a two point (lap) seat belt. The overall score was 27.5 (out of 37) the ANCAP report says.

4 Stars report details: The Navara scored 10.50 out of 16 in the offset crash test. The passenger compartment held its shape well. Protection from serious leg injury was marginal for the driver. The vehicle was awarded a default score of 16 out of 16 in the side impact crash test.

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) provides consumers with independent and transparent advice and information on the level of occupant protection provided by vehicles in serious front and side crashes.

Since 1993, ANCAP has published crash test results for over 300 vehicles. These vehicles are awarded star ratings indicating the level of safety they provide in the event of an accident. The higher the ANCAP star rating the better the vehicle performed in the tests. ANCAP recommends that consumers only buy ANCAP 5 star rated vehicles.

Among 5 star ANCAP rated vehicles are -

Ford Territory SZ (all variants) from 2011 on, Ford Falcon Mk11XT sedan 2011 on, Ford Falcon FG Mk11 Styleside Box Ute 2011 on, Ford Ranger all variants with side airbags 2011 on, Ford Falcon FG Ute- Styleside Box 2008 on, Ford Falcon XT Sedan 2008 on, Ford Territory all variants 2010 on.

Holden Captiva Series 2 - 7 FWD 2011 on, Holden Commodore VE Omega Ute 2009 on, Holden WM Statesman/Caprice (Omega tested) 2009 on, Holden Commodore VE Omega sedan 2008 on.

Mazda BT50 all variants with side airbags 2011 on, Mazda BT50 single cab with bench seat 2011 on.

Volkswagen Amarok (4WD) Dual Cab 2011 on, Volkswagen Toureg wagon 2005 on.

Subaru Impreza 5 door hatch 2007 to 2011, Subaru Outback 2.5i 2009 on, Subaru Outback 4 door wagon 2004 to 2008 dual frontal, Subaru Forester wagon 2004 to 2007, Subaru Liberty (safety pack) 4 door wagon 2004 to 2008.

Toyota Prado GX 5 door 2010 on.

BMW 5 Series 530d 2010 on, BMW X5 4 door wagon, 2003 on.

Kia Sorento diesel 2010 on.

Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 4WD 2009 on.

Mercedes Benz M Class ML320 CDI LHD 2008 on.

ANCAP is committed to:

crash testing new motor vehicles and publishing the results;

contributing to the systems approach to improving road safety:

safer drivers in safer cars on safer roads;

educating and influencing decision makers to effectively legislate and advocate for improved car safety;

working with manufacturers and importers to raise the bar on safety improvements and its importance to the consumer; and

co-operating with international advocates to lift and align safety standards around the world.

ANCAP's crash test program is supported by Australian and New Zealand automobile clubs;

Australian Federal and state governments;

New Zealand Government;

Victorian Transport Accident Commission;

NRMA Insurance; and

FIA Foundation (UK).